Minty English Pea Salad

Standard
Minty English Pea Salad

Pea Salad

Hello and welcome… my inspiration today was a bag of Trader Joe’s English Peas that I got last weekend. The weather was rainy and icky (by S. California standards) so when I spotted that bag of fresh green goodness I couldn’t pass it up!

I was searching for something revolutionary to make with my little green friends but was stumped. I kept coming across soup recipes (that looked delicious) and chutney but I didn’t want to puree the little guys. I also kept finding the combination of mint with peas. I finally decided that I would try them in one of my standard salads.

This is a quick salad that can be thrown together in minutes but looks and tastes more impressive. I usually make this salad with one or a combination of shredded cabbage, carrots, cucumbers, beets and even chick peas. This is my first time using mint in this salad but it won’t be the last. I hope you enjoy it too!

Minty English Pea Salad

Serves 3-4

  • 2 cups fresh peas, cooked al dente
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped shallots
  • 1 tsp green chili, chopped finely (or to taste, optional)
  • 1 tsp  salt (or to taste)
  • 2 tbsp fresh mint, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp to 1/4 cup coconut, grated (optional)
  • 1 tsp oil
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 5 curry leaves (optional)
  • 1 tsp lemon zest

Place the cooked peas in a bowl and add the shallots, chili (if using), salt, mint, lemon juice, and coconut (if using). Mix well.

In a small pan, heat the oil over medium heat and add the mustard seeds and curry leaves (if using). Remove from heat when the mustard seeds start to pop. Allow to cool for 1 or 2 minutes and pour over the salad. Mix around a bit and top with the lemon zest. Serve.

Leave a Reply

